## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

May 1, 2024

The Honorable David Joyce Chairman Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Financial Services 2412 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Steny Hoyer Ranking Member Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Financial Services 1705 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Joyce and Ranking Member Hoyer:

We write in strong support of funding the Drug-Free Communities (DFC) program at the highest possible funding level in Fiscal Year 2025. At a minimum, we are requesting that the program be maintained at \$109 million, as in the final Fiscal Year 2024 Financial Services and General Government Appropriations bills. We also ask that you include \$2.5 million from <u>within</u> the total amount appropriated in FY 2025 for the DFC program (level with the presumed final FY 2024 appropriated level) to fund the training and technical assistance component of the program, as specifically authorized in section 8204 of P.L. 115-271. Funding the DFC program at the highest possible level would allow communities across the country to continue their prevention efforts to address the nation's worsening drug crises.

As our states continue to combat the opioid, stimulant and youth vaping epidemics, the Drug-Free Communities program has been an effective tool in reducing youth substance use. According to independent research in communities where DFC coalitions exist, rates of past 30-day use among middle school students for alcohol, tobacco, marijuana and prescription drugs declined by 26.0%, 36.4%, 21.2%, and 16.7% respectively among FY 2021 DFC coalitions. Among high school students, rates for alcohol, tobacco, marijuana and prescription drugs declined by 27.6%, 44.2%, 23.0% and 34.0% respectively among FY 2021 DFC coalitions.<sup>1</sup> Currently, 751 communities across the nation have Drug-Free Communities Coalitions that provide support to 2.7 million middle school and 3.8 million high school students.<sup>2</sup>

The Drug-Free Communities Program is structured to ensure effectiveness, outcomes, and sustainability. It requires a community to demonstrate local commitment before becoming eligible to receive federal funds. This includes participation from at least 12 sectors in the community. All grantees are required to provide a dollar-for-dollar match in non-federal funds, up to the maximum amount of \$125,000 per year. The required emphasis on local data collection, community buy-in and participation among multiple sectors is central to DFC coalitions' success. This emphasis also allows DFC coalitions to respond effectively at the local level to all drug trends, such as meth, cocaine, opioids, fentanyl, other synthetic drugs and the youth vaping epidemic.

We urge you to fund the Drug-Free Communities program in FY 2025 at the highest possible funding level. This will ensure the maximum number of communities are equipped to effectively reduce all types of youth substance use and have the evaluation results to prove it.

Sincerely,

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> ICF (2023). Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program National Cross-Site Evaluation: End-of-Year 2022 Report. Washington, DC: Office of National Drug Control Policy.

Sincerely,

ann Mitane Kusta

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

landrà Cennen

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Yow

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick// Member of Congress

m. d. Panio

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

he

Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Ville Jer

Mike Levin Member of Congress

noto

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

tonly

Paul Tonko Member of Congress

anges C. Moylan

Member of Congress

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Jake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Tinde J. San

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

my anetta Member of Congress

mone

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Saste.

Bill Foster Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Rumua amata

Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen Member of Congress

LAM

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

12.

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

"/1)17 Member of Congress

nan Suzanne Bonamici

Member of Congress

lalat

Member of Congress

Patrick K. Ryan Member of Congress

Mira m

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Mary Sattler Peltola Mary Sattler Peltola

Member of Congress

ales X Money

Alex X. Mooney Member of Congress

Granne S. trasofy

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

ller

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Jakana Hayco

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

May Gascanlon

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

Mike Carey Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Jasmine ckett Member of Congress

<u>Nanette Diaz Barraga</u> Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barfagán Member of Congress

C

David Scott Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Comit

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Eline M. Solanti

Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Do

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Cashet

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Frank J. Mrvan

Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

ine

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

N-

André Carson Member of Congress

a delune Madeteine Dean

Member of Congress

DINOT

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress

Sim Hime Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

m

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

welnel

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Golden

Ared Golden Member of Congress

Zamer

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Paus Dalate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

the

Hillary J Scholten Member of Congress

Mar

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

ind

Brad Finstad Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress

প

David Rouzer Member of Congress

liaig Angie Craig

Angle Craig Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress